In a recent Foreign Policy article, “ISIS in Bangladesh: There’s still time to stop it, but only if action is taken,” ACLED-Asia Senior Research Manager and former UT graduate student Sarah Kaiser-Cross warns that jihadist terrorism is on the rise in South Asia. ISIS in Bangladesh has been able to exploit social and political fault lines in the country to increase its popularity. There have been eight attacks in the last six months, most of which have carried out by local disenfranchised organizations who have allied with ISIS. These small-scale, “lone wolf” style attacks are difficult to prevent and effective at spreading terror.

In two recent op-eds, Strauss Center Distinguished Scholar Alan Kuperman provides recommendations on nuclear non-proliferation policy for President Barack Obama and the U.S. Congress. Both articles preceded the 2016 Nuclear Security Summit, hosted by President Obama in Washington, D.C. from March 31 to April 1, which aims to coordinate international policy against the threat of nuclear terrorism.

Strauss Center Distinguished Scholar and Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Centennial Professor of Government Zoltan Barany recently published How Armies Respond to Revolution and Why, which focuses on the ability to predict how a state military will respond to a domestic uprising. Barany concludes that it is possible to make predictions about the military response to a revolt if four elements are known: the characteristics of the army, the characteristics of the state the military serves, the characteristics of the society in which the military exists, and the external environment that shapes the military’s actions.

The March 2016 issue of the journal Perspectives on Politics included a review of Strauss Center Distinguished Scholar and LBJ School Professor Alan Kuperman’s most recent volume, Constitutions and Conflict Management in Africa: Preventing Civil War through Institutional Design (U. of Pennsylvania, 2015), which emerged from the Strauss Center’s CCAPS program. Reviewer Shanna A. Kirschner places Kuperman’s book in the context of other scholarship on conflict management and constitutional design by Lijphart, Horowitz, Nilsson, and others.

Strauss Center Distinguished Scholar and Associate Professor of Government at UT Scott Wolford recently published an article in International Studies Quarterly with Emily Hencken Ritter. The article titled “National Leaders, Political Security, and the Formation of Military Coalitions” discusses the link between the political security of national leaders and their inclination to form coalitions.

white house medium