Moriba Jah, Program Lead of the Space Security and Safety (SSS) program at the Strauss Center, Director of the Advanced Sciences and Technology Research in Astronautics (ASTRIA) program, and Associate Professor of Aerospace engineering and Engineering Mechanics in the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, recently published a graph tool which illustrates the orbits of 1500 satellites and space junk items.

Zoltan Barany, Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Centennial Professor of Government at the University of Texas and Distinguished Scholar at the Strauss Center, co-edited and published a collection of studies entitled “Security Sector Reform in Constitutional Transitions.

Dr. Mark Atwood Lawrence, Strauss Center Distinguished Scholar and Associate Professor of History at the University of Texas at Austin, was recently named the sixth director of the LBJ Presidential Library—a position he will assume on January 5, 2020. David S. Ferriero, Archivist of the United States, noted in the announcement of Dr. Lawrence’s selection, that his “extensive knowledge of the 1960s, proven scholarship, and experience in museum design and planning” make Dr. Lawrence “uniquely qualified to lead this Library and Museum."

Intelligence Studies Project Senior Fellow J. Paul Pope recently reviewed David P. Oakley's "Subordinating Intelligence: The DoD/CIA Post-Cold War Relationship" in the Joint Forces Quarterly. Click here to read the review.

The Strauss Center and Ohio Northern University’s Pettit College of Law are excited to announce that Jennifer C. Daskal, Professor at the American University Washington College of Law, is the winner of the 2019 Mike Lewis Prize for National Security Law Scholarship for her article "Speech Across Borders."