Dr. Paul D. Miller, Associate Director of the Clements Center for National Security and Strauss Center Distinguished Scholar, recently published his book, American Power and Liberal Order: A Conservative Internationalist Grand Strategy (Georgetown University Press). Dr. Miller offers a clear-eyed critique of the school of thought that argues for further U.S. retrenchment in the wake of America's ongoing wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.

Steve Slick, Director of the Intelligence Studies Project, contributed to The Strategy Bridge last week under its "#Monday Musings" section--a weekly series designed to get three quick, insightful thoughts from leaders in the national security arena. In Mr. Slick's contribution, he provides answers to three questions regarding his experience as an intelligence officer and an educator.

Strauss Center Distinguished Scholar William Inboden recently published a review in H-Diplo titled “The Tragedy of Academic Realism,” (Sept. 9, 2016) of Daniel Bessner and Nicolas Guilhot’s article in International Security, “How Realism Waltzed Off: Liberalism and Decisionmaking in Kenneth Waltz’s Neorealism.” Inboden is an Associate Professor at the LBJ School of Public Affairs, and serves as Executive Director of the Clements Center for National Security at the University of Texas at Austin.

Dr. Eugene Gholz, Strauss Center Distinguished Scholar, was recently quoted in a New York Times article "Tensions Rise Between Iran and U.S. in Persian Gulf" (August 25, 2016.)

Strauss Center Distinguished Scholar Dr. Joshua Eisenman’s commentary piece “How Xi Jinping Undermines China’s Reforms” was published in the September 12, 2016 edition of the Wall Street Journal. Dr. Eisenman argues that the strict, conformist behavior of China’s president, Xi Jinping, stands in contrast with his stated goals for reform and further “opening” of China.