President-elect Barack Obama and Vice President-elect Joe Biden announced the nomination of key members of their national security team, including James B. Steinberg for Deputy Secretary of State, and Jacob Lew for Deputy Secretary of State, and the appointment of Thomas E. Donilon as Deputy National Security Advisor and Antony "Tony" Blinken as National Security Advisor to the Vice President.

Strauss Center Distinguished Scholar Ami Pedahzur wrote an op-ed for the New York Times on terrorism in India.  

Strauss Center Senior Fellow Joshua Busby and Prof. Ethan Kapstein have been awarded a $200,000 grant by the Merck Company Foundation to conduct a project on "The Grand Bargain: How the International Community Responded to HIV/AIDS." Busby and Kapstein will explore why drug treatment based on differential pricing of retroviral drugs emerged as the policy solution of choice in dealing with HIV/AIDS and whether this policy response will prove durable over the long term.

The University of Texas at Austin has selected Dr. William W. Cooper, Dr. Stephen A. Monti, Robert S. Strauss and Sara Martinez Tucker to receive the prestigious Presidential Citation for 2008.

Strauss Center Senior Fellow Philip Bobbitt poses twelve complex national security questions to the presidential candidates in a New York Times article. Without understanding how each candidate approaches and analyzes problems, and without understanding how those approaches differ, Bobbitt cautions that, whoever wins the election, the mandate for leading the country will be fragile at best.